“Chicago music legacy in 10 tracks”

1. “Spoonful” Bo Diddley, Muddy Waters & Howlin’ Wolf

In 1960, Chicago-based Chess Records released a single that became one of the most influential and much-covered recordings in its catalogue. It was called ‘Spoonful’ and was delivered by a singer who, at six feet three inches tall, and weighing 300lbs, was an imposing figure of a man. His voice, a booming sepulchral bellow that was akin, perhaps, to a volcanic eruption from hell, was even more remarkable. Though he was baptised Chester Burnett, the singer from White Station, Mississippi, called himself Howlin’ Wolf (1910-76), and both his name and his sound were unforgettable.

2. “Oh, Look at Me Now” Sam Cooke

Influential as a singer, composer, and producer, Sam Cooke is commonly known as the King of Soul for his distinctive vocals and importance within popular music. “Encore” is the second studio album by American singer-songwriter. The music is by the Bumps Blackwell Orchestra.

Oh, Look at Me Now (Remastered 2015)

3. “You Don’t Have to Go” The Chi-Lites

The Chi-Lites are an American R&B/soul vocal quartet from Chicago. The group’s greatest fame came during the early 1970s. They were led by Eugene Record, and scored eleven Top Ten R&B hits from 1969 to 1974. They also charted 21 songs in the Billboard Hot 100 Pop Chart.

You Don't Have to Go

4. “Miss Black America” (Demo Version) Curtis Mayfield

“Curtis” is the debut album by American soul musician Curtis Mayfield, released in September 1970. Produced by Mayfield, it was released on his own label Curtom Records. The musical styles of Curtis moved further away from the pop-soul sounds of Mayfield’s previous group The Impressions and featured more of a funk and psychedelic-influenced sound.

Miss Black America (Demo Version)

5. “Rufusized” Rufus featuring Chaka Khan

Rufusized is the gold-selling third studio album by funk band Rufus, on the ABC Records label in 1974, their second album released that year. The album peaked at #7 on the Billboard album chart the week ending March 1, 1975.

6. “Changes of Life” (Reprise Mix) Jeff Mills

Jeff Mills, American DJ, record producer and composer, became known as The Wizard in the early to mid 1980s. In the late 1980s, Mills founded the techno collective Underground Resistance with fellow Detroit techno producers ‘Mad’ Mike Banks and Robert Hood. Mills founded Axis Records in 1992, based in Chicago.

Jeff Mills – Changes of Life (Reprise Mix) – Purpose Maker

7. “House Nation” The Housemaster Boyz and the Rude Boy Of House

Farley “Jackmaster” Funk is an American musician, DJ and record producer of Chicago house and acid house music. He is notable for writing and producing a number of highly influential tracks in the mid and late 1980s. He has released records under various aliases like “Farley Funkin’ Keith”, “Rude Boy Farley Keith”, “The Housemaster Boyz”, “Jackmaster Dick” or “The Godfather of House”.

8. “Brighter Days” feat. Dajae (Radio Mix)

Curtis Alan Jones is an American singer, songwriter and record producer. In the early years, he teamed up with Chicago-based vocalist Dajae for “Brighter Days,” which entered #2 on the Billboard Hot Dance Music/Club Play, a high-impact and mellower house tune that was released on Cajual and distributed by NYC-based Emotive Records.

Brighter Days (Radio Mix)

9. “Body fresh” Broz Inc – Mr. K Alexi Shelby Remix

K’ Alexi also known as Mr. K’ Alexi Shelby is an American DJ, producer and composer from Chicago, IL. He is regarded as one of Chicago‘s founding fathers of Chicago House music and is considered one of the key instrumental pioneers in the genre. Since the late 1980s, he has helped pioneer the true house sound that has led him to a House production career that has spanned over 20 years. This led to collaborations with artists ranging from The Pet Shop Boys to Derrick May, Larry Heard, Robert Owens, and Felix da Housecat to Will Smith…

Broz Inc – Body Fresh (K Alexi Shelby Remix) / [BADAM MUSIC] – [BDM02]

10. “Baby Wants To Ride” Frankie Knuckles

Francis Warren Nicholls played an important role in developing and popularizing house music in Chicago during the 1980s, when the genre was in its infancy. In 1997, Knuckles won the Grammy Award for Remixer of the Year, Non-Classical. Due to his importance in the development of the genre, Knuckles was often called “The Godfather of House Music”.

Baby Wants to Ride (feat. Jamie Principle) (Re-Directed)

Broz Inc (K’Alexi Shelby Remix) – Gimme It EP (45RDB Records)

45RDB records co-founders Ben Men and Rob Malone drop their new ‘Gimme It’ EP together as Broz Inc, with Chicago legend K’Alexi Shelby serving up a remix. This recently launched project from the brothers focusses on pure US house music and all the warmth, depth and soul that comes with it. As record shop dealers, party promoters and DJs since the nineties, the pair wanted to go back to the source of their love of dance music and do it with their own special twist.First up is the joyous jazz house of ‘Gimme It’ which channels greats like Glenn Underground with its busy lead keys and bustling drums and percussion. It’s a track that soars to the heavens on waves of house spirituality and is guaranteed to bring the club together. K’Alexi Shelby is a Windy City great who makes bumping, raw and visceral house music both solo and with the likes of Larry Heard and Robert Owens, and has done for many years. Here he draws on the soul and funk he grew up with to layer in samples that range from James Brown snippets to choppy vocal loops, funky guitar riffs and cosmic disco waves. It’s a brilliantly lived-in and authentic cut that is full of character. Lastly, the excellent ‘XMAS Groov’ is another upbeat house track with plenty of horns, flutes, keys and chords all dancing about. The live-sounding drums power things along in musical fashion and it’s easy to see this one becoming huge this summer. This is a timeless new offering from fantastic French label 45RDB records.

Broz Inc (K’Alexi Shelby Remix) – Gimme It EP Label: 45RDB records Release: May 1st 2020 Cat. No.: RDB01