Trainspotting with Ridney

Awarded “Essential New Tune” 3 times on Pete Tong’s BBCR1 Essential Selection, UK producer and DJ Ridney has released music on Defected, Toolroom, Armada, Newstate, Perfecto, Ministry of Sound, Nervous, Size and Spinnin’ Records, to name a few. His music has also featured on ITV’s “Love Island” and various worldwide Netflix shows. As his new collaboration with Black Legend and Powerdress, ‘Over You’, drops on Fool’s Paradise, DMCWorld goes Trainspotting with Ridney.

 1 Dam Swindle – The Break Up – Heist Recordings

Incredible house vibes from the Dutch legends. Both infectious and timeless, rocking every one of my DJ sets this summer.

Dam Swindle - The break up

2 Ten Ven – What About You – Future Disco

Nu-disco gem with a pulsating bassline and rising pianos straight from the Future Disco crew. Bit of a secret weapon this summer, everyone’s been asking what it is.

Ten Ven - What About You

3 Pinto (NYC) – Dangerous – Jack City Recordings 

I heard Carl Cox play this at Brighton Music Conference and have been a huge supporter since. Wicked sample choice flipped beautifully over chunky house beats.

4 The Phantoms Revenge – Harmagedon – Self Release

Full on disco sample business as you’d have come to expect back in the day from both Roule & Crydamoure. Phantoms never disappoints.

5 Black Legend, Powerdress & Ridney – Over You (Richard Earnshaw Revision) – Fools Paradise

Black Legend played me an early demo of this idea as we toured together in 2022. After sending the parts I worked the track, speaking to Powerdress, who in turn kindly delivered a sumptuous vocal as we hit IMS this year. A lovely drink together at Destino and Seńor Earnshaw joined our little super group, delivering my favourite of the mixes.

Black Legend, PowerDress, Ridney - Over You (Richard Earnshaw Revision) [House]

6 Prince – Seventeen Days (Zach Witness Version) – Purple Witness

Wowowoww! I’m not even gonna try and describe this one, it’s Prince flipped by the wondrous Zach Witness. Literally, just press play and turn it up.

Prince - Seventeen Days (Zach Witness Version)

7 Deux – Sun Rising Up (David Penn Original Remastered) – Urbana

Back in the early 00’s I heard this dropped at Space in Ibiza, and it indeed blew the terrace apart. Fast forward and original writer & all round super producer David Penn gives it the 2023 remaster it rightly deserves. Has been an absolute weapon late summer and it’s great to see it find a new audience.

Sun Rising Up (David Penn 2023 Extended Edit)

8 Tartan – Ayo! – Tartan Records

The intro reminds me of Kraftwerk’s “The Robots”, before those big ol’ pianos drop and the crowd go wild. Late summer weapon and absolute beaut of a record, go grab a copy!

Tartan - Ayo! [TARTAN005]

9 Ridney, Inner Sprit & Michael Sebastian – White Isle Memories (Inner Spirit Re-work) – Paharas Musica

An absolute surprise for us, the original is close to 1.6m streams and has kindly had support on beaches from Ibiza to Bali and back. Featuring the wondrous loop pedal performance extraordinaire – Michael Sebastian on vocals / guitar coupled with myself and Richard Earnshaw (aka Inner Spirit) on production duties. We’ve also recently dropped a limited vinyl too!

Ridney, Inner Spirit & Michael Sebastian - White Isle Memories (Inner Spirit Rework)

10 Andrea Marchesini – What U Want (Richard Earnshaw & Ridney Revision) – Blockhead Recordings

I was very kindly asked to jump on-board with this remix (any excuse for a coffee with Mr Earnshaw) and you’ll get the vibe if you’ve checked out the rest of this chart, big piano vibes with a soulful lean. A great vocal too made this a super easy day in the studio and a remix which bridges tons of different sets.

What U Want (Richard Earnshaw & Ridney Remix) (Richard Earnshaw & Ridney (Extended Revision))

Black Legend, Powerdress & Ridney ‘Over You’ (Incl. Richard Earnshaw Revision) is out now on Fool’s Paradise.