Josh Milan - Honeycomb Music Vol 1

Legendary producer/songwriter Josh Milan (from the soulful supergroup Blaze) reveals his brand new Honeycomb Music project with the release of a fantastic double album dripping with soulful gems on his very own label! ‘Honeycomb Music Volume 1’ is dedicated to putting the real instrumentation and genuine heart felt soul back into dance music, Josh culls in a combination of amazing soulful pioneers and brand new upcoming talent, touching every aspect of soul music in the process.  Kicking off with an interesting spoken introduction from Josh himself which poses food for thought, featured on the album are lots friends including Cassio Ware on ‘Wake Up’; THE Queen of Gospel, Dawn Tallman on ‘GOD’, who performed most of the backing vocals on the album too. Another big hitter is the legendary lead singer of genre slashing cult band, The Family Stand, Sandra St Victor, who appears on ‘I Am Better’ & the Brainstorm 70’s funk band inspired ‘Yourself’.  Also making an appearance are the distinct thunderous voice of Brooklyn’s Alex P Suter and her band on ‘Hole That I’m In’; multitalented artist, soulful veteran and Brooklyn urban socialite, Crystal Johnson on ‘Who Am I’; one of Nu-Soul’s best loved New York diva’s, Angela Johnson on ‘Forever I Do’; Bronx born, Quincy Jones’ label mate T’Zelle on ‘Kipepeo’; the trail-blazin soulja of soul also from Connecticut, Lamone on ‘Your Eyes’;  and of course not forgetting the unmistakeable voice of woman behind the recent soulful smash ‘Till You Go Home’, Chinahblac.  New talent hails from New York City by way of Miss Cinnamon Brown, (who possibly has the best disco name ever!) who debuts on the fantastic house groove ‘Under The Moonlight’, along with another new discovery from Josh and also making their debut, Brooklyn’s worldly rhythm inspired band Honey Sweet on ‘Raul Rosario, We Miss You’. All penned by Josh along with co-writes with Angela, Crystal, Lamon and Cassio, ‘Honeycomb Music Volume 1’ started with Josh and his beloved keyboard after which his band members Jerard Snell (Drummer) and Leighton Rambaran (Bass) joined in the fun, along with a number of musicians from around the globe who were invited to put their own stank on the music.

5 out of 5

Reviewed By A.Rash