Various Artists ‘Summer Selections Four’ EP – NuNorthern Soul

NuNorthen Soul label boss Phil Cooper cherry picks a platter of stunning easy-going grooves on their annual label showcase release, ‘Summer Selections Four’ EP. Showcasing six of the best tracks from this year’s exciting schedule, you’ll find some fab additions here for your perfect summer playlist. James Bright’s ‘Amber’ is a colourful mid-tempo Balearic house outing, followed by ‘Nana a Leon’, a lush collaboration from Be.Ianuit and Marcos de la Fuente, who deliver a mixture of deep bass, pianos, sultry synth-strings and a spoken word. Cole Odin offers a slow-motion sunset soundscape of ethereal chords and chiming melodies on ‘Growing’, and Gold Suite’s ‘The Cowboy’ offers a mix of jangling Americana, mid-‘80s Balearic Reggae and synth-pop. Making their label debut, is North Of The Island with their spaced-out, sunset ready ‘I Feel’, and finishing off this stunning package is ‘Smoke & Fly – a bass-heavy Balearic dub from Ibiza-based Italian duo, Residentes Balearicos.


Reviewed by Ratha Gud