Mousse T is thoroughly deserving of this handsome appreciation from Defected, a timely reminder of just how durable his work has been over the last 25 years or so. The 30 tracks chosen here show his versatility, from the opening instrumental version of ‘Horny’ (now 20 years old!) to his reworking of Camelphat & Elderbrook’s ‘Cola’. Along the way are a huge variety of remixes, including money spinners for Simply Red and Bootsy Collins, but of greater value are the original productions like ‘Brother On The Run’ and the welcome inclusion of ‘Teef’, a subtle but lasting track that initially seems over simple but works really well as a cool, deep bit of early evening dancefloor material. Mousse T is mostly about hands-in-the-air moments though, and this collection illustrates them vividly.
Ben Hogwood 
5 out of 5