To celebrate a decade in the consciousness of dance music fans, Munich label Permanent Vacation has commissioned a set of 16 brand new tracks from their top artists. That’s great news for lovers of John Talabot, Joakim, Tensnake and Mano Le Tough, all of whom contribute some excellent new stuff. Talabot’s ‘The Strange Silence’ is moody and magnificent, Tensnake’s shimmering ‘Cielo’ is a lovely track, and Joakim’s ‘Camino De La Lune’ is also excellent in both its versions, paying tribute to the label’s first success through Antena. The lazy brass on Woolfy vs Projections’ ‘Astronaut’ is very persuasive, while The Drifter’s ‘Space Ramp’ has some endearing weirdness to complement its chilled vibe. The variety on show here is impressive, especially as the quality level never dips – and let’s face it, those are statements we’ve been making about the label’s output for ten years. Here’s to the next decade!

Ben Hogwood
5 out of 5