Mr G

Back To Mine – Mr G

A personal collection for after hours grooving…

Mr G1. Recomposed by Carl Craig & Moritz Von Oswald ‘Development Mix’  Deutsche Grammophon
13 min long trip to your mindz eye, deep as the ocean. Great with a glass a of after party rum.

2. Warriors  ‘Love potion no.9’ Avi Records
Big peoples disco… when this gets going, trust me, you are in!Heavy synth on this…

3. Nina Kraviz ‘Fire’ Rekids
We on the same label and i’m soooo feeling this anytime day or night,raw emotionz…. might even remix this?

4. Sylvester ‘Give It Up (Don’t Make Me Wait)’ Fantasy
Another side to good ole Sylvester and a great lets get up them stairs record… it works trust me!

5. Mr G ‘Bills January Blues’ Rekids
Tripped out and bass heavy goes nice with those late nite vibez, from my forth coming album “State of Flux”.

6. Dayone ‘Multiply’ Duppy Gun
Some next level reggae from LA via Jamaicia… something to think about while collecting you thoughts. Dangerous.

7. Glays Knight & The Pips ‘LoveIs Always On Your Mind’ Buddah
They don’t make em like this often, soul/disco with great strings and a real message… dream on.

8. Philadelphia International Classics…..The Tom Moulton Remixes
Faithfully done every one a winner and i’ve always been a Philly boy, Those stringz warmz this er heart… need that in life.

9. Meshell Ndegocello ‘Naive’
Been with Meshell from the start and now we in some deep serious shit right here… thought provoking good to talk whenever.

10. Bush Wacker Bill ‘Soul Fo yo mind’ Private Blog
This guy knows just how to throw down and always ready to flip the script,real ole skool selecter….badd


Mr G
Danceholics EP
Holic Trax
London party organisers, Holic launch their own Holic Trax vinyl record label with a superb single from the ever-excellent Mr G…
Holic Trax is a brand new label from London based Japan DJ/Producer Tomoki Tamura. Tamura has been running the highly successful Holic parties in London & Tokyo for the last five years and Holic Trax is a natural extension of that, reflecting the musical soul of the events. Connected as Tamura & Holic naturally are, they look to a true electronic music heavyweight to kick off proceedings, the ever-excellent Mr G.
Mr G AKA Colin McBean has been at the heart of the dance music’s scene for the last two decades, first as one half of the legendary outfit The Advent and latterly as a solo artist recording for imprints such as REKIDS (who released his 2010 album ‘Still here’), Detroit imprint Moods & Grooves and his own Phoenix G label to name just a few,and has done countless  remixes as well.
McBean’s latest release, ‘Danceholic’s EP’ is another glimpse into the musical soul of this talented producer, written and recorded with just his MPC and select outboard kit it is a testament to what is good about dance music; raw, heartfelt, energy filled music for the floor. The EP kicks off with the brilliant ‘Don’t Ever Give Up’ a stripped, percussive slice of house music with a warm acidic bassline, organic sounding pads and a soulfully twisted vocal that is quite unique.  Next up we have ‘Guidance (T2 edit)’ which journeys into hypnotic, loop driven territory with a tightly edited vocal riding over taut percussion and squelching bass tones before being joined by haunting strings lines and classic 909 rides.
Last of the vinyl cut’s is title track ‘Danceholic’s’, an intense workout that once again sees McBean soulfully fuse elements of house and techno to create a brilliant floorfiller with real depth. To complete the digital package there is ‘Don’t Ever Dub’ a great four and a half minute dub version of the opening track.
Mr G hits the mark once again with this superb EP and helps get the promising Holic Trax label of to a flying start.
1. Don’t Ever Give Up
2. Guidance (T2 edit)
3. Danceholic’s
4. Don’t Ever dub (Digital only)