Back To Mine – Craig McWhinney

A personal collection for after hours grooving…


01. Floating Points – Shadows EP // Eglo
I love pretty much everything Floating Points has done.

02. Unbroken Dub – Untitled Dubs // Rawax
Soothing, deep stuff.

03. Gil Scott-Heron – Free Will // Flying Dutchman
Classic music.

04. Carl Craig – Just another Day // Planet E
Remember Carl starting his set at Honky Tonks (in Melbourne) with
Sandstorms a number of years ago. Amazing record.

05. Kangding Ray – OR // Raster-Noton
Dark and dreamy machine music.

06. Rhythm & Sound – W/ The Artists // Burial Mix
Essential Dub. Always find myself youtubing the hell outta Rhythm & Sound.

07. Mount Kimbie – Crooks & Lovers // Hotflush
Can’t get past this album, too good.

08. Deadbeat – Drawn And Quartered // BLKRTZ
I think you can see a dub theme emerging here, but this one is really cool. Would play in a club, a car, or my loungeroom.

09. Mike Callander – Antarctica // Haul
This album is damn cool. Grows on you.

10. Morphosis – What Have We Learned // Delsin
Experimentation, techno. machines, glitches…. cool



Craig McWhinney ‘Heavy Stemmed EP’ (Incl. Mic Newman & Weekend Express Remixes)
Melbourne Deepcast Records return with its eagerly anticipated third installment, the ‘Heavy Stemmed’ EP by Craig McWhinney backed with remixes from Weekend Express and Mic Newman.
Born out of the brilliant Melbourne Deepcast blog and podcast series Melbourne Deepcast Records have gone from strength to strength, with two previous V/A releases featuring tracks from label owner Andy Hart, Lewie Day and Mic Newman under his Fantastic Man alias.
Title track ‘Heavy Stemmed’ is a hard-hitting weapon of purpose that crosses dub, house and McWhinney’s beloved techno with precision and beauty, whilst ‘Flow’ implements brooding synth lines and Craig’s signature hypnotic broken percussion, showing apparent influence from the darker edges of the UK garage and dub sound.
The B-Side sees the multi talented Melbourne Deepcast regular Weekend Express dust off his 808 and 909 to create a heavy deep house version, rife with peak time club appeal. To conclude the release Mic Newman’s remix efforts take McWhinney’s track in a slomo disco direction with warm bass lines and luscious vocal snippets glistening with Newman’s trademark attention to detail.

Track list
A1. ‘Heavy Stemmed’ written and produced by Craig McWhinney.