The annual Kompakt summary is once again a robust double package that will satisfy fans and newcomers alike. There are eight previously unreleased tracks, including the chunky ‘Komm’ from Matias Aguayo, Lake Turner’s wavy ‘Beacon Fields’ and ‘The Price Of Love’ from The Modernist feat. Joe Goddard. Highlights are the deep and richly textured Jonas Bering remix of The Silent Ones’ ‘Magical Party’, a remix of Dave DK’s ‘Kronsee’ from Ulrich Schnauss that really hits the sweet spot, and a quality Robag remix of Coma’s ‘Lora’. Meanwhile Clarian’s ‘Space Noir’ is unsettling, as is the darkly robotic ‘Mirror Me (Dark Dub)’ from Maceo Plex feat. C.A.R. Patrice Baumel’s majestic Surge, mind, is just sublime – and illustrates just how much on the money Kompakt still are.
5 out of 5
Reviewed by Ben Hogwood