Trainspotting With DJ Disciple

Brooklyn’s DJ Disciple has been producing and spinning house music for over 30 years and continues to run his successful Catch 22 Recordings (EST 1997). He’s remixed and collaborated with Basement Jaxx, Mousse T., Dawn Tallman, Grant Nelson, and Robbie Rivera, among many. DJ Disciple has played everywhere from New York’s legendary Studio 54 and The Choice (at The Loft, Dave Mancuso’s venue), Ministry of Sound, Cream, Hard Times (UK) and more. Earlier this year saw the launch of his brilliant book, ‘The Beat, the Scene, the Sound’ – a behind-the-scenes account of house music in NYC, co-written by Henry Kronk. As his new collaboration with Sonic Soul Orchestra and Beatweezy ‘I Am A Conqueror’ drops on Catch 22, DMCWorld goes Trainspotting with DJ Disciple!

1 DJ Disciple x Soul Sonic Orchestra – I Am A Conqueror feat. Beatweezy – Catch 22

Beatweezy lays the inspired bumpy beat vocals to ‘I Am A Conqueror’ which has seen the likes of DJ Heather tearing it up at her gigs. A massive groove to move your body to.

DJ Disciple x Soul Sonic Orchestra - I Am A Conqueror Featuring Beatweezy

2 Mattei & Omich, Fatimah Provillon, Jay Vegas – My Feelings Can’t Explain  (Jay Vegas Classic House Mix) – Mattei & Omich Music

Jay Vegas has been a go-to guy in productions and remixes he’s done and doing for some time now. With “My Feelings Can’t Explain” he fakes us out with the one-half riff of “Where Love Lives” and uses the “My Feelings” vocal that’s in the Olympics for overused vocals.

My Feelings Can't Explain (Extended Mix)

3 Saison –  Deliver You (Extended Mix) No Fuss Records

I looked forward to coming to the UK just so I could Rob Saison of some tunes, They do spoken vocals (like the “Let’s Be Free” with E-Man) and give dancefloors so much energy. Whether rocking it on House FM, or dropping in Bristol “Deliver Me” is that simple loop that gets you every time. The bass line rolls over simple vocals but carries an effective bassline.

Deliver You (Extended Mix)

4 Swaylo, Mark Francis – Merci {Mark Francis Vocal Mix} 201 Records

201 Records are 8-9 releases deep but the label’s soulful signature feels heaven-sent with Emil Gayles on the production and Mark Francis on the go-to remix. Swaylo hits the right notes on “Merci”. Francis has his Amplified night with Jihad Muhammad and I’m sure this gets nailed every night. Good mix.

5 Sonic Soul Orchestra ft Kathy Brown – So Into You – Quantize

It’s my first time back in the UK in 13 years. Once I arrive JP Firmin drops this gem in my gmail inbox. “So Into You” (Michael Watford’s biggest song) gets covered properly by Kathy Brown and is one of the biggest songs I play during my whole visit. While promoting my book with Henry Kronk (The Beat, The Scene The Sound), I had to explain when this bomb was being released, I’m glad it’s out now. Essential if you’re playing in London clubs.

So Into You - Sonic Soul Orchestra, Kathy Brown

6 Break Main Digital Native (BDM), Pastor Jason Hendrickson –  Goodness Praise Break  – Mirror Ball Recordings

All one has to do is see Deon Cole’s reaction to Terry Hunter laying down the festival-worthy “Goodness Praise Break” to see that it’s more than just Sunday shouting music over a house beat. Listening to Pastor Jason Hendrickson brings church straight to the dancefloor. A gem to have in your box.

7 Sebb Junior – Colors   – Fool’s Paradise

Nothing says ‘ready for some action’ like “Colors” by Sebb Junior. He takes the Moog chords to plus-ten to house up the track. “Colors” is a mood breaker. A punchy hypnotic groover dressed with warm bubbling synth melodies that flow over a deep effervescent bassline, bringing all the right feels to the dance floor. High marks for this one.

Colors (Extended Mix)

8 Risk Assessment – Someone Like You – Stereo: Type

I admit to having a soft spot for Barry White paying close attention to how so many producers have got it wrong when they come up with an idea for a Nudisco remake. I’m well pleased with how Risk Assessment took the stringy disco groove and made it refreshing for 2023. If you love your disco house, grab “Someone Like You”.

9 Dutchican Soul & Greg van Bueren – “Reckless Girl” – Groove Culture

“Reckless Girls” is an honest throwback to how vocals were cleverly used in the 90’s disco house era. Now that some parts of the world have gone disco crazy, the cleverly arranged vocals fit right in. It sounds so big in a proper club. This works for today’s dance floor.

Dutchican Soul & Greg van Bueren "Reckless Girl"

10 DJ Disciple Feat Harmonies – Trust God In All Things – Catch 22

Mijangos is one of the most important forerunners of house music coming out of Mexico. “Trust God In All Things” is perfectly laid in by vocalist Harmonies with the help of Mijangos beats.

Trust God In All Things (Mijangos Remix)

DJ Disciple x Soul Sonic Orchestra – I Am A Conqueror feat. Beatweezy is out now on Catch 22.